Posted by: northernhillsmteam | November 26, 2007

Update from Lana Martens

M a r t e n s’ M u s i n g s

November 2007 

Dear sisters and brothers, I have returned from a month-long trip that was full of celebration. The Naskapi New Testament was dedicated on Sept 16 on the Kawawachikamach reserve in northern Quebec. Each night that weekend there was a Gospel Jamboree with singing and testimonies. On Sunday I attended the dedication service in the Anglican church, which was followed by the traditional community feast, including caribou stew and mokoshan (a combination of caribou fat and ground-up caribou bone). It has been 20 years since I was last in the community, so it was a special time to see some of my friends and to rejoice in the way the community had grown and was receiving the New Testament in their own language.  Following that weekend, I visited my former Quebec housemate, Clo, where she now lives in southeastern Quebec. We had a wonderful time together, and she enjoyed meeting Ivy, my service dog. Then I returned to Madison, Wisconsin, for a missions conference at my home church. It was fun to tell them about the dedication and to give them another reason to praise the Lord. Then I returned to Dallas with my sister Sue and her husband Harold. We had a good time together, and I was thankful for their company on the trip back to Dallas.  And now I’m back at work! I’m enjoying it, but a thought crept into mind that perhaps I could consider an overseas assignment. I’ve asked a few questions, and it definitely looks like a possibility. One major consideration is my parents and their health, another is how to deal with the diabetes and arthritis overseas, a third is making sure that Ivy (my service dog) can safely accompany and live with me wherever it is that I go. I’m also beginning to learn some of the software used for doing linguistic analysis, as I am certain that will be a very useful – if not necessary – tool if I make such a move. I’d really welcome your prayers for me as I seek the Lord for His direction in looking for some answers to the multitude of questions.   Christ’s birthday celebration approaches quickly! I’m planning on going to my parents’ for several days.  I pray that each of you has a joyful, precious Christmas with loved ones and/or friends. Thank you so much for your partnership with me in getting God’s Word to people in the language they understand best!  

serving the King, Lana Martens

710 Palm AveDuncanville, TX  75116Email: Lana_Martens@sil.org

   

Wycliffe Bible TranslatorsPO Box 628200 Orlando, FL 32862-8200


Leave a comment

Categories