Posted by: northernhillsmteam | November 18, 2008

Denver Home Church Update

This past Saturday I had the privilege of leading a young man to the Lord at the Colorado University football game in Boulder, Colorado. I had just completed my open-air preaching to thousands when as I was walking back to the car a young man asked me, “What does Jesus save?” As I engaged him in conversation it was clear that the Lord had prepared him to receive the gospel. He was not saved at the time but gave his solemn commitment to receive the Lord that very day. He requested prayer for his uncle who was suffering from cancer with a tumor on his liver. I assured him that I would indeed pray for his uncle and encouraged him to read his Bible every day and to go to church. His name is Joseph and I am confident that we have a new member in the kingdom of God as a result of God’s mercy through that outreach in Boulder. The angels are rejoicing in heaven!
 
 
Greetings in the name of Jesus Christ! I am always blessed at this time of the year when I remember the first time I preached the gospel in the open air at McNichols Arena in downtown Denver at a Nuggets game.  It was in 1985 at the end of the Nuggets preseason that Mike Howell and I first proclaimed the love of Jesus in the open air.  Mike continues to walk faithfully with the Lord although he is no longer preaching in the open air. There have been many people who have helped me labor over these 23 years in the open air.  Last week I visited Metro State College of Denver on the Auraria Campus with my oldest daughter Anna.  I showed Anna the spot where, while witnessing to students there in 1988, I met my wife Kay who was a student at the time. God led us to be married in less than 10 months.  You have all been an indispensable part of what God has done in bringing people to the Lord. The most significant blessings have been the people God has raised up to help labor and minister on the field over these years.  Several weeks ago a businessmen helped me evangelize in downtown Denver. I spoke with him afterwards and he confided in me that he was quite afraid and anxious but at the same time resolved to continue the mission.  I felt the same exact way when I first evangelized in the open-air although those feelings have now disappeared.  My middle daughter Rachel, age 15, helped me evangelize with Tom Fleet to thousands upon thousands of people at the Denver Broncos football game two Sundays ago.  She has a very strong commitment to Jesus Christ and wanted to come with me to evangelize. She confided in me, just as the businessman had some weeks ago, that she too was afraid and anxious.  I offered for us to leave and go home, not wanting her conscience to be wounded or for her to have a bad impression about the joy of reaching out to the multitudes.  She said, “No, I would like to stay until we are finished”.  I was so blessed by her response as I had been encouraged by the businessman weeks earlier because both of them had surmounted their fears and trepidations in order to reach people with the good news of the Lord Jesus Christ! I encourage you to overcome your fears as these two saints have done because of the great task that lies before us to reach the world with the gospel through the preaching of the Word. Paul states in Second Corinthians 7:5: “For, when we were come into Macedonia, our flesh had no rest, but we were troubled on every side; without were fightings, within were fears.” He overcame fears for the sake of souls and we need to do the same! Thank you so very much for your help and support in every way.
 
PRAYER + PRAISES: “Brethren- pray for us.”
1) For Joseph to grow as a believer to maturity.
2) For Joseph‘s uncle to be healed and saved.


Leave a comment

Categories